Waiting & New Book In The Mail


The residents in the three apartments on my row have been waiting all week for an electrical contractor to come in and put one GFCI outlet in the kitchen and one in the bathroom.

We were told to have everything moved away from these two outlets to make way for this to be done. Yet here we are six days later, and no contractor. 

There is much grumbling among the residents, according to my next door neighbor, who is the only person I really talk to. 

We have our things piled on our kitchen tables and cleared from our small bathrooms. Nothing seems to get done around here when it's supposed to.

I have not yet taken my Breville Smart Oven out of the box.

Because I know the contractor will be turning off the electrical power. And I don't want to take any chances, however remote, on this one getting blown out too.


I ordered two surge protectors for appliances from Amazon.com. Hopefully one of these will protect the Breville oven. The second one is in case I need it for the refrigerator. 

Because I have the washer hooked up where the refrigerator is supposed to be, I have the fridge plugged into the only above the counter outlet. 

There are three outlets in the kitchen. One behind my washer (that is supposed to be for the fridge), one is above the kitchen counter, and one is across the room. 

So I've been mostly snacking and eating cheese and crackers and fruit. But I'll probably get tired of that over the weekend and may have to go ahead and set up the Breville oven.


I want to do a little Christmas decorating, but having things piled all over the tables to keep my counters and bathroom clear is holding me up. 

I might have to put everything back and then clear the surface areas again Monday in case the contractor finally gets here. Not sure yet.

I received this book from the publisher yesterday.


Amazon Blurb...
 
A harrowing psychological thriller about a missing teenage boy whose mother must expose the secrets within their own family if she wants to find her son—perfect for fans of Reconstructing Amelia.

You love your family. They make you feel safe. You trust them. Or do you…?

When fifteen-year-old Billy Wilkinson goes missing in the middle of the night, his mother, Claire Wilkinson, blames herself. She’s not the only one. There isn’t a single member of Billy’s family that doesn’t feel guilty. 


But the Wilkinsons are so used to keeping secrets from one another that it isn’t until six months later, after an appeal for information goes horribly wrong, that the truth begins to surface.

Claire is sure of two things—that Billy is still alive and that her friends and family had nothing to do with his disappearance.

A mother’s instinct is never wrong. Or is it…?

Combining an unreliable narrator and fast-paced storytelling, The Missing is a chilling novel of psychological suspense that will thoroughly captivate and obsess readers.

 
 

10 comments

  1. I am so lucky that the management of my duplex does things in such a timely manner. Hope they get these electrical outlets done soon. I'm in a mess as I drag out my Christmas decor, but I love it! Hoping to get more done this weekend.

    ReplyDelete
  2. That is too bad your management company does not get on these people to get things done. Those outlets have to be in there by law so they better get going before something goes wrong and they get sued. That book sounds really intriguing. I love psychological thrillers. Have a good weekend.
    Kris

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have never really paid any attention to electrical outlets because I have always lived in fairly new houses until we downsized into this house which was built in the 40's. Shortly after moving in our friend who was doing some electrical work for us noticed that there were no GFCI outlets anyplace in the house. Since he is a contractor he was astounded that the sale went through without them being installed, even after we had the house inspected! So after trying to live without them, tripping the circuit breaker in the kitchen constantly when using the microwave, fridge, etc. we were forced to have them replaced. Needless to say they were VERY expensive. I understand your apprehension about using your new Breville, I think I would be too. It is so frustrating when you move everything in anticipation of someone coming to do work and then they don't show up. We have experienced that more than once in trying to get things done in this house. And I put everything back the way it was because I can't stand to live in disarray even for a short period of time and it is much harder to live that way in a small space. Hopefully this will get taken care for you soon. I know you are feeling very frustrated at this point.

    ReplyDelete
  4. it's the law? I had no idea! I live in apartments that are nice but quite old.
    circa 1983 I think. they were supposedly all renovated but i'm thinking it was cosmetic only. there is not a single GFCI outlet in this one. I always use surge protectors on the computer and tv. but not on the appliances in the kitchen.
    we're in our third management team since I've been here. and that's been a little over a year. it's like a revolving door.
    I would use a surge protector on my breville oven and put everything back and decorate however I wanted. that is sure to make the contractor show up. murphy's law!

    ReplyDelete
  5. If you’re home when the electrician arrives, you may want to show him where you have your fridge plugged in ... just to be sure that outlet is adequate.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Love how we can share our frustrations on this blog. It's like having a party-line on your Southwestern Bell land line telephone and U R living out in the country with 8 friendly people on your line.It helps with stress to share for sure!

    ReplyDelete
  7. It's so buggy waiting for maintenance...ugh! Our upstairs neighbor's bathroom flooded down to ours and we had to wait 7 days for our carpet to get cleaned. Yuck!
    Surge protectors - yes! The house we lived in in Utah was old and I lost my miter saw to some electrical malfunction. Grrr!
    Cheese and crackers sounds good - wonder if my hungry boys will go for that for a weekend. Nice break for me.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I only keep my Breville oven plugged in while using it. I keep it unplugged the rest of the time. Same with other appliances that aren't used a lot and are easy to unplug and plug back in...the paper shredder, treadmill, fans, cell phone charger, etc.

    ReplyDelete
  9. What a pain. Maybe you could ask the manager to call you at least 1 hour before the contractor is coming so that you can prepare the area. IT is ridiculous that you have to live in limbo.

    Thank you for letting me know my blog was loading slow, although I resize my photos to 600 I was still having issues, so I changed the setting to allow only 4 posts to load at once and I think it helped.

    Thank you again!

    ReplyDelete
  10. How frustrating!! I hate when there's a project in the works and things are all over the place, not in their proper spots. It messes with my sense of peace and calm that I normally have when I'm in my cozy house! Hope they get to you soon.

    ReplyDelete

I always enjoy reading your comments and having you join the conversation here at Cozy Little House. It is like having a gathering of friends sitting in my cozy apartment. Enjoying coffee and dessert, chatting and having a good time.

Please be kind with your comments. We all need kindness in this world. That's not to say you can't state your opinion! Everyone should be able to state their own opinion in a kind and thoughtful manner.

I appreciate each and every one of you!